• Home   /  
  • Archive by category "1"

Eriksons Developmental Stages Essay Definition

Show More

Erik Erikson is an ego psychologist. According to Erikson, a child growing environment is very important and as it provides growth environment, adjustment, source of awareness, and identity to a child. If the environment was rich in what had been mentioned above, a child would grow healthily or vice versa, he or she will have an unhealthy development.
Ego of a person develops when one successfully solves the crisis at each stage of development and when this phenomenon occurs, it results in healthy personality. For an instance, a sense of trust in others, sense of identity in society, and preparation of next generation for the future. Not to forget that basic virtues, the ability which ego can use to solve subsequent crisis also would…show more content…

Virtue of hope is then being developed in the infant. On the other hand, if the infant failed to sense the love and care from the parents, they would feel insecure and sense of mistrust would develop in the infant. They will lose hope, and feel insecure in their world, thus, anxiety occurs in one self. Autonomy vs. shame and doubt is the second stage of the development, it happens between 1 and the half years old to 3 years old. During this period, Erikson stated that it is important for parents to encourage their children on what they have done and give them the opportunity to discover the limits of their abilities. The encouragement of the parents will lead their child to be more independence. Also, children should be educated to complete particular task by themselves. If they could do so, they would become more confident and have the ability to survive in the world. Vice versa, they will be lack of self-esteem and have a sense of shame on their own abilities. From age three to age five, the crisis that turns up in this stage is initiative vs. guilt. During this stage, children already started to communicate with the other children in school, and this created an opportunity for children to explore their interpersonal skills indirectly. Sense of initiative would be developed in the children when they feel secure in their leadership in a game that

Erik Erikson’s Stages of Child Development Essay

1170 Words5 Pages

Erik Erikson presented eight stages of human development, which last throughout an entire life-span. Throughout each developmental stage, each developmental task presents a catastrophe for the individual. Erikson defined catastrophe as “a turning point of increased vulnerability and enhanced potential” (Santrock 73). Each of Erikson’s developmental stages is presented in such a way that the negatives and positives are clearly defined. Although there are eight developmental stages, five pertain to a child’s development. The first stage, which occurs during the first year of life, is labeled as trust versus mistrust. Trust is developed when the caregiver is nurturing which gives the child a feel of comfort. When a child receives…show more content…

As a child gains initiative, the child is then most likely in middle to late childhood and experiencing a developmental stage Erikson called industry versus inferiority. At this stage, children master knowledge and educational skills with the help of an elementary school classroom. If children believe that they are not mastering skills at a level as same as their peers, children may develop a sense of inferiority which may also hinder the educational experience throughout a child’s entire life. When a child passes through Erikson’s fourth stage and into adolescence, the child experiences a stage identified as identity versus identity confusion. Identity versus identity confusion is the final stage that affects a child’s development. Children at this stage are searching for their own identities through many avenues to identify themselves in the way they feel. A child at this age should be able to search out his or her own identity because; if the child is constrained in anyway the child may become identity confused. Identity confusion is caused when a child fails to choose any one identity but instead chooses several to identify his or her self. With the eight stages of Erik Erikson’s developmental theory, five occur between birth and twenty years old that affect a child’s development greatly. Every person throughout life experiences each stage within Erikson’s theory whether the outcome is negative or positive however, if the

Show More

One thought on “Eriksons Developmental Stages Essay Definition

Leave a comment

L'indirizzo email non verrà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *